Bjork Biography and Discography

Born in Raykjavik, Iceland on 21 November, 1965. She formed the rock band Sugarcubes in 1986 before established as a solo artist in 1993. Bjork Biophilia, Volta, Medulla, Vespertine, Post and Debut are her best albums. She is known for hit singles like ‘Big Time Sensuality’, ‘Human Behaviour’ and ‘I’ve Seen It All’. She starred in the critically acclaimed movie ‘Dancer in the Dark’. For her mesmerizing performance in the film, she earned the Best Actress Award at the Canned Film Festival and a Golden Globe Award nomination. Populous singer, actress and song-writer Bjork was born Bjork Gudmudsdottir. Having raised in a highly musical family, she released her debut album a collection of traditional folk songs of Iceland when she was just 11 years old. Throughout her teenage, she sang with many revolutionary punk bands including KUKL which features Einar Melax, Siggi Baldursson and Einar Orn. With many of her follow band mates of KUKL, she founded the pop rock band the Sugarcubes joined by guitarist Thor Eldon, Bragi Olafsson and Magga Ornolfsdottir in 1986.

Top 10 Bjork Songs

She married Thor Eldon on 8 June, 1986 and gave birth to a baby boy Sindri Eldon Thorsson but the couple split in 1987. In 1988, The Sugarcubes released their debut “Life’s Too Good” which won a cult following in both the UK and US. The band’s last album “It’s It” was released in 1992 was a series of dance remixes of earlier work a result of fascination of Bjork with the genre.

Top 10 Best Bjork Songs List – Greatest Hits 2017

  1. Come to Me (1993)
  2. Big Time Sensuality (1993)
  3. Joga (1997)
  4. Hyperballad (1995)
  5. All is Full of Love (1997)
  6. Unravel (1997)
  7. Army of Me (1995)
  8. Moon (2011)
  9. Earth Intruders (2007)
  10. Oceania (2004)

Best of Bjork Songs 2017 List

  • Human Behaviour (1993)
  • Pagan Poetry (2001)
  • Earth Intruders (2007)
  • Stonemilker (2015)
  • It’s Oh So Quiet (1995)
  • Declare Independence (2008)
  • Triumph of a Heart (2005)
  • The Comet Song (2010)
  • Lionsong (2015)
  • Hidden Place (2001)

Many of Bjork albums featured revolutionary songs. She released her debut solo album “Debut” in 1993. The album featured Bjork greatest hits Big Time Sensuality and Human Behaviour and sold 3 million copies worldwide. After having moved to London, England, she released album Post in 1995 that broke her early albums records thanks to innovative collaborations with Tricky, Howie B and Graham Massey. Information about next Bjork tours concerts tickets and her latest images are available online.

Bjork New Album 2017 Upcoming

  • Vulnicura (2015)
  • Björk (1977)
  • Vespertine (2001)
  • Volta (2007)
  • Homogenic (1997)
  • Medúlla (2004)
  • Post (1995)
  • Debut (1993)
  • Biophilia (2011)

The diminutive Icelandic musician made a film debut with the film Dancer in the Dark directed by Lars von Trier in 2000. Though it was rumoured at that time that tension had increased between the star and the director, Bjork received positive reviews and critics praise after its release. Bjork and von Trier received an Academy Award nominaionin early 2001 for ‘I’ve Seen It All’. The same year, she created fasion history when she appeared in a swan dress while performing the track at Academy Awards. In 2001, she released her first album in the olympiad, Vespertine.

In 2013, she was added to the lineup of Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival in Manchester with the likes of d Billy Idol. Bjork new album is Vulnicura. After her short lived marriage with Eldon, she was involved in romantic relationships with many members in the music industry including Tricky and Goldie of pop band Massive Attack. Later in 2000, she met Matthew Barney while promoting Dancer in the Dark in New York City. The two started dating soon and the relationship lasts in 2013. She gave birth to a baby girl, Isadora Bjarkardottir Barney on 3 October 2002. The couple later worked together for the 2005’s film Drawing Restraint 9. Bjork concert now lives in New York with her family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *